India Squad For South Africa: Test Match

In the month of September – October India had to play 3 T20i’s and 3 Test Matches with the South African cricket team. The Men in Blue will continue their T20i’s matches for the upcoming T20 World Cup in Australia. They will also continue their test match win against South Africa for World Test Championship.

Indian selectors led by MSK Prasad will announce India’s Test squad against South Africa. Indian cricket team selectors had already announced T20i’s team against South Africa.

BCCI Chief Selector MSK Prasad
Courtesy © BCCI

Due to Opener KL Rahul’s poor show with bat could make the way for Rohit Sharma as a new opener. Rohit Sharma, who couldn’t make it in the playing XI against the West Indies, is expected to be tried out as an opener. After Hanuma Vihari and Ajinkya Rahane sealed slot No. 5 and 6 in the batting order respectively. Rohit’s last Test appearance for India was in the away series against Australia in 2018.

Cheteshwar Pujara, at No.3, and skipper Virat Kohli, at No.4, automatically pick themselves. Bengal opener Abhimanyu Easwaran, a capable performer at the domestic and India A games, could be rewarded as a reserve opener, if the selection committee decides to drop Rahul.

The other openers in the list are Priyank Panchal of Gujarat and Shubman Gill of Punjab. With Mayank Agarwal assured of his place, the only debate could be the opening slot with both Rohit and Easwaran make it.

All-rounder Hardik Pandya could be back in the Test squad. Navdeep Saini might come in as a back-up pacer. Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav and Ravichandran Ashwin will be the three spinners.

Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami and Ishant Sharma will be the three pacers. In case Shami is rested, then Umesh Yadav can come in.

India Squad For South Africa

India vs South Africa (Test Series 2019)

Likely Squad : India

1.Mayank Aggarwal
2.Rohit Sharma
3.Cheteshwar Pujara
4.Virat Kohli (c)
5.Hanuma Vihari
6.Ajinkya Rahane (vc)
7.Rishabh Pant (wk)
8.Hardik Pandya
9.Ravindra Jadeja
10.Ravichandran Ashwin
11.Kuldeep Yadav
12.Mohammed Shami
13.Jasprit Bumrah
14.Ishant Sharma
15.Umesh Yadav

In Reserve :

1.Abhimanyu Easwaran (3rd opener)
2.Priyank Panchal (3rd opener)
3.Navdeep Saini (reserver pacer)
4.Kona Bharat (2nd keeper)

South Africa Squad For India

Faf du Plessis To Led South Africa Against India (Test Series 2019)

Squad : South Africa

1.Faf du Plessis (c)
2.Temba Bavuma (vc)
3.Theunis de Bruyn
4.Quinton de Kock (wk)
5.Dean Elgar
6.Zubayr Hamza
7.Heinrich Klaasen (wk)
8.Keshav Maharaj
9.Aiden Markram
10.Senuran Muthusamy
11.Lungi Ngidi
12.Anrich Nortje
13.Vernon Philander
14.Dane Piedt
15.Kagiso Rabada

India Squad For South Africa : T20 International

Courtesy © Paytm

Mahendra Singh Dhoni did not play in the Indian team for the upcoming three-match T20 series against South Africa. But Hardik Pandya who is fit has returned as the only change in the 15-member squad.

On the other hand, MS Dhoni, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Jasprit Bumrah are the notable absentees from the 15-man squad.

Dhoni, who had taken a two-month break from the sport, is currently vacationing in the United States, having served the Territorial Army for 15 days. The current selection committee headed by MSK Prasad “wants to look ahead”.

“This selection committee is clear on one front. They will never ask any questions to Dhoni with regards to retirement as that’s not their domain. But till then they will reserve him, Rishabh Pant is now India’s first-choice keeper across formats,”.

With (22) T20 International matches left before next year’s T20 World Cup in Australia, the selection committee wants to put a succession plan. The three choices as white ball keepers are Pant, Sanju Samson and Ishan Kishan.

India To Look Ahead For T20 World Cup In Australia

Captain Virat Kohli, his deputy Rohit Sharma, all-rounder Hardik Pandya will comprise against South Africa.

Bhuvaneshwar Kumar is the only player left out as part of the management programme. Krunal and Hardik Pandya, Deepak Chahar, Washington Sundar, Navdeep Saini and Khaleel Ahmed are all part of the current T20 set-up.

India vs South Africa: T20 International

T20 Squad (India Against South Africa)

Squad : India

1 Rohit Sharma (vc)
2.Shikhar Dhawan
3.KL Rahul
4.Virat Kohli (c)
5.Shreyas Iyer
6.Manish Pandey
7.Rishabh Pant (wk)
8.Ravindra Jadeja
9.Hardik Pandya
10.Krunal Pandya
11.Washington Sundar
12.Rahul Chahar
13.Khaleel Ahmed
14.Deepak Chahar
15.Navdeep Saini

South Africa Squad For India

Quinton de Kock To Led South Africa In The T20i’s Against India

Squad: South Africa

1.Quinton de Kock (c), (wk)
2.Rassie van der Dussen (vc)
3.Temba Bavuma
4.Junior Dala
5.Bjorn Fortuin
6.Beuran Hendricks
7.Reeza Hendricks
8.David Miller
9.Anrich Nortje
10.Andile Phehlukwayo
11.Dwaine Pretorius
12.George Linde
13.Kagiso Rabada
14.Tabraiz Shamsi
15.Jon-Jon Smuts

Schedule T20 International and Test Match

T20 International

South Africa’s Tour of India – 2019 (T20I series)

Courtesy © CricAbout

Test Match

South Africa’s Tour of India -2019 (Test Match series)

  • 1st Test, 09:30 IST, October 2-6, ACA-VDCA Stadium, Visakhapatnam;
  • 2nd Test, 09:30 IST, October 10-14, Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Pune;
  • 3rd Test, 09:30 IST, October 19-23, JSCA International Stadium Complex, Ranchi